Tags

, ,

Seriously though, I do a ridiculous happy dance every year when January rolls around.  The glitz, the glam, the fantastic clothing, who can complain?  So far we’ve been graced with the Golden Globes and as of tonight, the Screen Actor’s Guild awards.  All we have to do is wait for the Oscars on February 27 and BOOM, we’ve hit the trifecta.

In my opinion, the overall style and feel of the fashion walking the red carpet this year is of a completely higher caliber than in years past.  We’re seeing classy chignons paired Roberto Cavalli, bold colors in Versace, and the classic minimalist brilliance of the Calvin Klein Collection (did you see Emma Stone and Claire Danes at the Golden Globes?? I thought I’d died and gone to a blissful peachy heaven).

After seeing the multitude of  actors walk the red carpet at both the Golden Globes and the SAGs,  I’ve narrowed it down to my top two favorite actresses who WORKED the two awards shows.  I wait with baited breath to see the big guns they pull out for the Oscars.

Mila Kunis


I seriously thought that Kunis’s dress at the Golden Globes couldn’t be topped.  The stunning deep green, off the shoulder Vera Wang was coupled with an effortless updo, Lorraine Schwartz jewelry, Judith Leiber clutch and Yves Saint Laurent shoes.  …And then she played the Alexander McQueen card.

Speechless.  Beautifully crafted, and expertly chosen. You can never go wrong with a McQueen in my book.

January Jones

The Golden Globes showed a juxtaposition of  light and dark as the prominent theme.   Blacks, navys, champagnes, and a little bit of glitter were the predominant colors.  Imagine my delight when our from the sea of monochromatia steps January Jones in this bombshell fringed Versace gown.  The hair was very Grace Kelly, and I felt it complimented the “wow” factor of the dress beautifully.  The only thing better than this dress was the one she pulled out for the SAGs:

Jones stuck with the retro hairstyle and it makes almost just as much of a statement as this Carolina Herrera dress, Lorraine Schwartz jewels, Roger Vivier shoes, and a Tod’s bag. Can we all just agree that my God the woman is FLAWLESS?

Agree or disagree? Leave your comments! Namaste!

Melody Burdette – (VP of Publicity)

